A pink rose and a place of the heart

A pink rose and a place of the heart.

The glorious pink rose on top of the stool in the photo (from the page “The essence of Atelier Jeux d’esprit) is a reminder to me of the day I went to visit Basia Zarzycka’s magical shop on Sloane Square in London, which has to be the home of whimsical trifles.

new-image

knew from an article in Country Living magazine that Mme Zarzycka is an astonishingly  skillful embroiderer and craftswoman, far beyond anything I will ever hope to aspire to.   I can however be encouraged that I am not alone in making the kind of thing you will find at Atelier Jeux d’esprit .

After a lot of careful browsing about in a shop even fuller of treasure than mine, I chose a very grand artificial rose in shade of green and violet.  It went off out the back to be packaged up in a box that fully reflects the workmanship of the flower, I paid, and went back to my cousin’s house, where,  good New Zealander that I am, I was staying.

When I opened up the box to show off my purchase, the flower was not in the least as I had remembered!  I stewed over this for a day or two, and then went back to the shop, to find out what had happened!  I had barely walked in the door, when the staff and Mme Zarzycka herself  cried out how glad they were that I had returned:  they didn’t know how the mistake had happened either, but they  were distressed that I had gone off with the wrong item, leaving them with no way to get in touch with me.  The pink rose was added to my purchase, as a sigh of relief and an apology all at once.

Go there if ever you get the chance!  In the meantime, there is now the website, for when you need a little magic!

http://www.basia-zarzycka.com/basiasite.html

Leave a Reply

About Basia Zarzycka

www.basiazarzycka.com